System of the Year Award

The System of the Year Award (SOYA) is the highest honor IDEA can bestow on a district energy system. It recognizes an exemplary district energy system providing high-level performance and service that further the goals of the district energy industry.

The IDEA System of the Year Award serves to:

 - Provide a global industry benchmark for industry excellence, recognizing systems that illustrate the operational advantages of district energy in providing sustainable, efficient, reliable, and resilient energy services in their communities.

- Provide a platform for sharing ideas, best practices and innovations that have helped to make district energy systems successful. 

- Identify and promote the importance and value of district energy systems in the marketplace relative to other forms of energy generation and distribution.

- Further publicize district energy as a progressive industry that seeks continuous improvement in the services it provides.

Consider submitting for the prestigious System of the Year (SOYA) award. Download the application and tell us the story of your system. Email Jason Beal at if you have questions.

Submit Your Application to Be Crowned the 2023 SOYA

Is this the year that your system is honored as the IDEA System of the Year? You won't be, unless you submit your application!

The application to submit for 2023 SOYA is now available. Download it today and get ready to tell the world your story. Winners will be celebrated at IDEA2023 in Chicago, IL, June 5-8, 2023 at the Hilton Chicago.

The deadline to submit your application for review is Friday, April 7, 2023.

Download the 2023 SOYA Application

Meet Last Year's Winner!

After receiving a record number of submissions in 2022, it was our pleasure to bestow the 2022 System of the Year Award to Enwave Energy Corporation at IDEA2022 at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel in Toronto, June 6-9, 2022. 

Read the Official Announcement Blog Post

Read Enwave's Winning SOYA Submission

The team at Enwave Energy Corporation, Toronto - with CEO Carlyle Coutinho - accepting the 2022 SOYA in their 'own backyard' at IDEA2022 in Toronto, flanked by SOYA chairman Bob Smith (on the left) and IDEA President and CEO Rob Thornton (on the right).

Recognizing Excellence in District Energy

Past Winners

2022 Enwave Energy Corporation, Toronto, ON
Milwaukee Regional Medical Center Thermal and Ever-Green Energy, Milwaukee, WI
Tabreed, UAE
Thermal Energy Corporation, Houston, TX
2018 University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX
2017 University of Missouri Columbia, Missouri
2016 City of Richmond, British Columbia
2015 Veolia Energy Boston, Massachusetts
2014 Qatar Cool, Doha, Qatar
2013 Markham District Energy, Markham, ON
2012 Qatar Cool, Doha, Qatar
2011 Enwave Energy Corporation, Toronto, ON
2010 District Energy St. Paul, St. Paul, MN
2009 SOYA Not Awarded, All Recognized – IDEA Centennial Conference
2008 NRG Energy Center Phoenix, Arizona
2007 Consolidated Edison, New York, NY
2006 Metro Nashville District Energy/Constellation Energy Projects & Services Group
2005 University of Cincinnati, Ohio
2004 University of Missouri Columbia, Missouri
2003 Seattle Steam Company, Washington
2001 Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
2000 Consolidated Edison, New York, NY
1999 Enwave Energy Corporation, Toronto, ON
1998 Trigen Baltimore Energy Corporation, Maryland
1997 University of California - Los Angeles, CA
1996 NRG Energy Center Minneapolis, MN
1994 Energy Systems Company, Omaha, NB
1993 District Energy St. Paul, St. Paul, MN