Blog Viewer

John Gray Scholarship Winners Announced: Celebrating Future Leaders

By District Energy posted 06-29-2022 14:32

For those unfamiliar with John Gray and his contributions to IDEA, he was a longtime member, former IDEA President and member of the IDEA Board of Directors who attended IDEA meetings for more than 50 years. We highly recommend watching this tribute video to him (be prepared to laugh and cry).
The John Gray Scholarship was established in his name at IDEA's 100th Annual Conference in 2009, out of respect for his passionate belief in the importance of lifelong learning. The scholarship is typically offered annually to IDEA member employees and their children, or to individuals pursuing an enhancement of knowledge of district energy either through the educational opportunities at IDEA meetings or through educational programs at four-year universities in management, engineering, finance, or energy, or at two-year community colleges that offer an Associate’s Degree in power engineering.
After a two-year hiatus, IDEA awarded 8 scholarships during its Annual Chair's Banquet - the most ever awarded in one year - to some truly remarkable individuals who are all driven to lead and succeed. The first four in the photos below were able to join us in person to accept their awards, but all of these amazing recipients are proof that the future of our industry is in good hands.
Please join us in congratulating the following recipients. 

AbdalAziz Al Ghoul: 2022 graduate of University of Ottawa
Arnav Dixit: incoming freshman at University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Colton Smith: incoming senior at University of Maryland Baltimore County
David Urke: attending University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Mary Nonnenmann: incoming Freshman at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Paige Davis: pursuing a Masters of Arts in Renewable Energy and Sustainability Systems, Penn State University
Rachel Gray: pursuing a Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering at George Washington University
Tyler Kleinsasser: incoming Junior at South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

To learn more about the John Gray Scholarship, visit the IDEA Website.